What will League Tables look like in the future?

In 2014 and 2015, the DfE will continue to publish the information we see in the current performance tables, and the main measure will still be the five A*-C grades including English and Maths.  However, from 2016 onwards the headline figures will be significantly different:

  1. Progress across 8 subjects (to be known as Progress 8);
  2. Attainment across 8 subjects (to be known as Attainment 8);
  3. The percentage of pupils achieving a C grade or better in both GCSE or iGCSE English and Maths;
  4. The percentage of pupils gaining the English Baccalaureate.

Early indications are that this information will be reported in this sort of style [click on image to enlarge]:

league tables

So, how will these figures be arrived at?

The subjects in the Progress 8 and Attainment 8 figures must include the following GCSEs, iGCSE, AS-levels and other Level 3 qualifications:

  • English;
  • Maths;
  • The candidate’s best results in at least three of the other Ebacc subjects (Computer Science, Single Science, Double Science A, Double Science B, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, History, Ancient History, Geography, modern foreign languages and classical languages – for the full list, click here;
  • The candidate’s best results in up to three “open” subjects.  This includes all other full GCSEs, established iGCSEs, AS-levels and various  qualifications from the wider DfE Level 3 list.  This list covers courses in Art, Music, ICT, Hospitality, Sport, and more besides – click here to see it.

How will “Progress 8” and “Attainment 8” be calculated?

In 2016, 1 point will be awarded for a GCSE grade G, 2 for an F, and so on up to an 8 for an A*.  In this points system, Maths will be double-weighted, along with the best result of English Language and English Literature (provided a pupil has taken both these English qualifications – the second best score of English Literature and English Language can then be counted in the “open” subjects, assuming it is one of the pupil’s highest scores in this group).

Progress 8

Attainment 8 will be determined by dividing a pupil’s points total by 10, regardless of how many qualifications the pupil sits.  If a student receives fewer than eight qualifications, or sits qualifications which do not match the requirements outlined above, then they will score 0 points for each unfilled slot. Once calculated in this way, the score for their best 8 subjects can then be reported as an average grade , e.g. A*, B-, C+.

Progress 8 is more complicated as it looks at value added.  It will analyse a pupil’s average KS2 point score and use this to predict eventual KS4 results – e.g. 8 passes at grade C.  Pupils who exceed these predictions will receive a positive score.  The way in which this is all calculated will change year on year through to 2019, as other government reforms come into effect and as the data becomes more reliable.

For a fuller explanation of Progress 8, click here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s